Amelia Earhart was an American aviation pioneer and author, most famous for being the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic where she landed in a field outside Derry. She was also a best selling author that wrote books on her flying experiences, set other records and firsts, and was important for the founding of the 99s an organization for female pilots. She disappeared in 1937 when trying to circumnavigate the world by plane.
Amelia Earhart Landing
On 20th May 1932 Amelia Earhart set off from Newfoundland Canada aiming for Paris to become the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic. Due to poor weather conditions and mechanical trouble she was forced to cut her journey short instead landing in a field north of Derry. For this feat she received the Distinguished Flying Cross from Congress, the Cross of Knight of the Legion of Honour from the French Government and the Gold Medal of the National Geographic Society from President Herbert Hoover.
Apprentice Boys Memorial Hall
The Apprentice Boys Memorial Hall is dedicated to the memory of the 13 apprentice boys who closed the city gates in 1688. It currently houses the headquarters for the Apprentice Boys of Derry and meeting rooms for other orders; Orange Order, Women’s Orange and The Royal Black Institution.
Artillery Bastion got its name from the artillery stores located next to it, the street next to it is also called artillery Street. Prior to mid-18th century it was called Ferry bastion as it overlooked the location where ferry’s crossed the Foyle. The cannon on a large field carriage was commissioned by the Salters company in 1642 and the damaged cannon on the ship carriage was commissioned by the London Corporation in 1624, the damage on it happened during the siege when a cannon ball exploded while stuck in its muzzle.
Battle of the Atlantic
The Battle of the Atlantic was the longest continuous military campaign in World War II, Britain was dependant on imports and Germany sought to block supplies mostly from America across the Atlantic. Derry ended up as the largest naval base in Western Europe with 140 ships in the fopyle at once at its peak, Ebrington barracks was set up as a shore base called HMS Ferret, which was responsible for 149 escort and anti-submarine vessels.
Bay Road Park
Bay Road Park is a 20 ha local nature reserve on the River Foyle right next to the Foyle Bridge. It has woodland, wildflower meadows, grassland, salt marsh and mudflats as well as a pedestrian and cycle network. There are several types of animals that can be seen including; otters, bats, six priority bird species and butterflies.
Bishop’s Gate was one of the 4 original gates to the city and was named because it was adjacent to the Bishops palace. Originally it would have had a single arch and battlements on top of it and a drawbridge as outside there was a dry ditch to hinder attackers. The gate was extensively remodelled by Bishop Frederick Hervey in 1789 at the centenary of the closing of the gates, turning it into the most extravagant gate of the city. The sculpted head were created by Edward Smyth, the one on the inside represents the River Boyne and the one on the outside represents the River Foyle.
Bloody Sunday was a massacre on 30th January 1972 in the Bogside when 14 civilians were killed and at least 15 were injured by British Paratroopers during a protest match against interment without trial. Inquires after it cleared the soldiers of wrong doing but were widely considered a whitewash, in 1998 a new enquiry “The Savile Enquiry” was started, after 12 years the report branded the killings "unjustifiable".
BNCR Waterside Railway Station
This Victorian Railway Station was built in 1874 by Belfast & Northern Counties Railway, it was one of 4 stations in the city and is now the only one that still exists. It was damaged by bombs forcing it to close in 1980 and be replaced by a smaller station. In 2019 after extensive refurbishment and upgrade the line was moved back to this station.
The Bogside is a Catholic/Republican residential area just outside the walls, it was the site of several significant events of the troubles, Including The battle of the Bogside that started the troubles and Bloody Sunday. When the walled city was founded the area was a marshland that was only passible on foot in a few places, over the years that dried up and was a key area of expansion for the city when it outgrew the walls.
The Bogside Murals are a set of 12 large scale murals in the Bogside area, they were painted and maintained by the Bogside Artists®, a group of 3 artists Tom and William Kelly, and Kevin Hasson. The murals represent the people of the Bogside and their history of seeking justice and democratic rights.
Boom Hall is a house and demesne on the west bank of the River Foyle next to the Foyle Bridge. It is on the site of a fort that was built by Jacobite forces during the Siege of Londonderry and the boom that blocked access to the city crossed the river here. The house was built in 1779 by the Alexander family and named after the boom. The house has unfortunately been left derelict and collapsing but there are plans to restore it in the works.
Bridget Bond was one of the most well-known leaders in the civil rights movement in Ireland. Bond was a member of the Northern Ireland Civil Rights Association and her efforts to secure fair share in housing for the Catholics of Derry mushroomed into one of the most multifaceted and mass-supported issues of any civil rights movement.
Bronagh Gallagher (born 26 April 1972) is an Irish singer and actress from Northern Ireland. Gallagher had her first acting role in the 1989 television movie Dear Sarah. She grew up in the heart of the Bogside during the peak of the troubles.
Brooke Park is a 8 hectare public park located 1km from the city centre, it was first opened in 1901 and owes its existence to 2 local benefactors John Gwyn and James Hood Brooke. It was closed in 2014 for £5.6 million regeneration project and reopened in 2016 with a new play park, café and football pitches.
Butchers gate is one of the original 4 gates, it was named because of the butchers in the street adjacent is where the cows raised in Cowbog were slaughtered. Outside the walls was tanners row which was named after the leather trade in the area. It was remodelled in 1790 and again in 1805-1808, its height was almost doubled to allow for better access. If you look closely at the stonework of the gate you can see the height of the original gate.
Castle Gate is narrowest and plainest of the gates, it was built in 1803 and was largely reconstructed in the 1990s. In the 18th century the city had outgrown the walls and houses and factories were increasing being built outside the walls. One of the first areas to be built up was along Waterloo street then known as Cowbog which was a meadow that was used to graze cows. This Gate was the 2nd new gate to be built and allowed easy access between Castle Lane(now Castle Street) and the buildings outside.
Cathy Harkin was born in 1942. She left school at sixteen and became a stitcher in one of Derry’s shirt factories. Cathy became active in the trade union movement and was the first female Chairperson of Derry Trades Council. Cathy was active in the civil rights movement and involved with the Derry Labour Party. She co-founded Derry’s Women’s Aid in 1976 along with Avila Kilmurray (featured in the podcast) and was involved in a wide range of anti poverty and women’s campaigns in the north west of Northern Ireland.
Church Bastion was originally named King James’ bulwark in honour of James I but was renamed during the siege because of its proximity to the Cathedral. The 2 cannon on this bastion date from 1942 and were commissioned by Marchant Taylers London. This Bastian over looks the fountain estate and houses were built right against the walls from 1830 -1970. It now offers good views over the Fountain and over to the other side of the Foyle. The Fountain got its name from the reservoir that was built right next to this bastion in 1810.
Church Wall is an extension of the walls built to protect the Cathedral from cannon fire, it has 2 watch towers on either side and would have had a platform for soldiers to stand on. Each of the bastions would have had similar watch towers but these 2 are the last to survive, they would have provided shelter from the rain for soldiers on duty. In this wall there is a sally port which was used by defenders to make surprise attacks against attackers.
The City Cemetery is the largest cemetery in the city that opened in 1853 as the cemeteries in the city centre had become full. The graves in the cemetery tell the history of the city from cholera pandemics in the 1800s, the world wars and the troubles. It is the final resting place for 70,000+ people and some of the city’s most famous people including John Guy Ferguson, William Tillie and John Hume.
Claudy Country Park
Claudy Country Park is based on the estate of Cumber House, which was built in 1810 by the Browne-Lecky family. It runs along the Faughan river and has many mature beech, oak, willow and silver birch trees. The walkway is 4km long and has views of Claudy and its old churches across the river.
The Craft Village is a reconstruction of an 18th century Street and 19th Century Square, it has a mix of craft shops, souvenir shops, balconied apartments, coffee shops and a licensed restaurant. There is a thatched cottage and the square has a canopy, which are used to host local community and cultural events.
The Craigavon Bridge, named after Lord Craigavon the first Prime Minister of Northern Ireland, was opened in 1933 to replace the Carlisle Bridge that was almost exactly where the Craigavon bridge is now. It is one of only a few double deck road bridges in Europe, the lower deck was originally a railway bridge but was converted to a road bridge in 1968.
Creggan Country Park
Creggan Country Park offers water sports, angling and outdoor pursuits, based in and around the fresh water lakes at the former reservoir in the Creggan area of the city. It is a 100 acre site with woodland, wildflower meadows, picnic areas and a café, located within a 5 minute drive from the city centre.
Cultúrlann Uí Chanáin
Cultúrlann Uí Chanáin is a purpose built Irish language and culture centre that delivers Irish lessons, promotes Irish culture and hosts events. It first started in 1984 as a Bogside branch of Conradh na Gaeilge that delivered Irish classes, it moved to Great James Street in 1988 acquired a second building in 1994 then constructed its current purpose built centre, which opened in 2009.
Dana Rosemary Scallon (born Rosemary Brown on 30 August 1951), known professionally as Dana, is an Irish singer and former politician who served as Member of the European Parliament from 1999 to 2004.
The 3rd Derry Gaol was on bishop’s Street at this location, it was demolished in 1973 but one of the towers which were added in 1824 remains. The first prison was opened in 1620 in the Diamond and the 2nd was opened at Ferryquay gate in 1676 both inside the walls. The Gaol has had notable “Guests” including Theobald Wolfe Tone and Eamon de Valera.
Derry Girls Mural
Derry girls is a sitcom based in Derry, written by Derry Born writer, Lisa McGee and aired on Channel 4. It is set during the troubles in the 1990s and centres around a group of teenage girls that attend a catholic girls school. As of early 2021 2 seasons have aired with 6 episodes each and a 3rd is commissioned but got delayed.
The Troubles in Northern Ireland required that attempts were made from the early 1970s until the late 1990s to enforce border controls. Many smaller cross-border roads were cratered or blockaded with the intention of making them impassable to regular traffic. Bridges were also destroyed to prevent access at unauthorised border crossings (known officially as "unapproved roads").
Diamond War Memorial
The Diamond War Memorial is a memorial dedicated to citizens that lost their lives during the World Wars. There are names of 755 men and one woman commemorated, it was designed by Sydney & Vernon March and it was unveiled in 1927 by Mayor-General F.F. Ready, General Officer Commanding the Northern Ireland district.
Double Bastion is in a particularly important position as it looks along 2 stretches of wall and has the best view of the surrounding area. It was originally named Prince Charles Bulwark in honour of James I son later to be Charles I but was renamed during the siege.
The hill that the walled city was built on was once a island covered in oak trees with the River Foyle on one side and wetlands on the other. Its one of the oldest continuously inhabited places in Ireland with people living here for thousands of years and it was the site of a monastery founded by St Columba in the 6th century.
The Ebrington Factory was built in 1892 and made shirts for Young & Rochester, it was designed by William Barker and was extended in 1895 and 1900 by Daniel Conroy. The factory closed in the 70s but was recused from demolition by Maydown Ebrington Group in the 90s who opened the Ebrington centre in 2001.
Ebrington Square is a former military barracks that was given to the executive office to be redeveloped for public benefit. It is where the Peace Bridge connects to in the waterside, the former parade ground is used as events space and many of the buildings of the barracks have been redeveloped and now house local businesses.
Edward Kevin Daly, D.D. (5 December 1933 – 8 August 2016) was an Irish Roman Catholic priest and author. He served as the Bishop of Derry from 1974 to 1993. Daly took part in several civil rights marches and events during the Troubles. He came to wider attention during Bloody Sunday in January 1972, waving a blood-stained white handkerchief as he escorted a group carrying a mortally wounded boy after British troops opened fire on demonstrators.
Emigration from Derry
Following the introduction of the penal laws and years of conflict, Ireland was sometimes a hostile place for people of different faiths to live. The first to leave Ireland in Large Numbers were Presbyterians, Reverend James McGregor, who fought in the Siege led his congregation to America they arrived in Boston in 1718 and went on to found the town of Derry and Londonderry in New Hampshire. This began the long history of Emigration from Ireland leaving from the city.
For almost a century the city’s economy depended on shirt making and at its peak there was 44 shirt factories that employed more people than all other industries in the city combined. This mural in the Craft Village is dedicated to the workers in the shirt factories “the Factory Girls” and was painted by UV Arts.
Ferryquay gate was one of the original 4 gateways, it was used to access the ferry that crossed the Foyle. It originally had twin battlement towers and a draw bridge, it was also the where the 2nd jail of the city was based. It was this gate that the Earl of Antrim approached that was then locked by the apprentice boys in 1688. The gate was remodelled in 1865, it is decorated with 2 models heads on the inside is Reverend James Gordon, a Presbyterian leader during the siege and on the outside is Reverend George Walker, Joint Governor of the city during the siege.
First Derry Presbyterian Church
The First Derry Presbyterian Church was but in 1690 using a large donation from Queen Mary that was made in recognition of the sacrifices of Presbyterians during the Siege. It was replaced with the current building in 1780 as it was too small and received several other modifications over the years. The Adjoining Blue Coat Visitor Centre tells the story of the Presbyterians in Ireland including the Siege and the influence on foundation of the United States.
Fort George was an british army base and was vacated by the Ministry of Defence in 2001 and acquired four years later by the then named the Department for Social Development.
The Loyalist Murals in the Fountain showcase a wide range of Loyalist culture from scenes of history, slogans and Ulster Scots culture. The black wall with white writing at this location that says “Londonderry West Bank Loyalists still Under Siege No Surrender” references the exodus of Loyalists from the Cityside and “No Surrender” was shouted from the walls when James II approached the city requesting it surrender.
The Foyle Arena is the largest and most up to date leisure activities facility in the city, it opened in 2015 and cost £12 million to build. Its main sports hall has space for 2,000 spectators, it also has: a fitness suite, a 25m pool, a separate children’s pool, a floodlit 3G pitch and the highest dedicated indoor climbing wall in Ireland.
The Foyle Bridge was opened in 1984 to provide a second crossing on the Foyle in the city as the Craigavon Bridge alone was not enough for the growing amount of traffic in the city. Until the Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Bridge was built in 2020, the Foyle Bridge was the longest bridge in Ireland at 866 metres with a longest span of 234 metres.
Foyle Port Marina
The Foyle Port Marina contains 2 pontoons; a 200 metre wooden structure and a 140 metre concrete structure that provide facilities for a wide range of vessels up to 1000 tons. The wooden pontoon behind the council offices is where the round the world Clipper yacht race docks when it visited the city 4 races in a row, the race was cancelled in 2020 which would have made it 5 but it is due to return in 2022.
Foyle Valley Railway Museum
Foyle Valley Railway Museum is a museum that was open by local council in 1990 on the site of the former GNR Ireland Foyle Road station. The museum was closed in 2002 but in August 2016 it was taken over by local learning disability charity Destined, who have plans to fully reopen the museum to the public again.
Frederick Hervey, the 4th Earl of Bristol, was an English aristocrat who achieved the almost impossible feat (for an English aristocrat) of being generally adored in Ireland during his lifetime and fondly remembered ever since. At a time when many of his class who ruled or owned property here were at best indifferent towards the Irish themselves, Frederick won hearts and minds through a rare combination of religious tolerance, generosity and a highly-developed sense of humour.
Free Derry Corner
In 1969 during the Free Derry civil rights movement, people of the Bogside declared the area as an autonomous nationalist area, “You are now entering Free Derry” was painted on the wall at the end of a row of houses to show this. It is now a free standing wall in the middle of the Bogside as a monument to the movement.
Garden of Reflection
The City Centre Garden of Reflection project is a partnership between Inner City Trust (lead partner), Derry City Council and DiverseCity Community Partnership. The project is funded by the PEACE III Programme through the European Union’s Regional Development Fund managed by the Special EU PRogrammes Body.
Grianan of Aileach
The Grianan of Aileach (Irish: Grianán Ailigh, sometimes anglicised as Greenan Ely or Greenan Fort) is a hillfort atop the 244 metres (801 ft) high Greenan Mountain at Inishowen in County Donegal, Ireland. The main structure is a stone ringfort, thought to have been built by the Northern Uí Néill, in the sixth or seventh century CE; although there is evidence that the site had been in use before the fort was built. It has been identified as the seat of the Kingdom of Ailech and one of the royal sites of Gaelic Ireland. The wall is about 4.5 metres (15 ft) thick and 5 metres (16 ft) high. Inside it has three terraces, which are linked by steps, and two long passages within it. Originally, there would have been buildings inside the ringfort. Just outside it are the remains of a well and a tumulus.
The Guildhall is a Grade A listed building where the members of Derry City and Strabane District Council meet. It’s clock tower was modelled after Big Ben in London, it has the mayor’s Parlour, a Café, the Plantation of Ulster exhibition and is decorated with stain glass windows donated by London Companies. A guided tour around the Guildhall is one of the essential activities for visitors to the city.
Hands Across the Divide
Hands across the Divide is a monument of 2 bronze statues with hands stretched out over a divide, located on the cityside at the end of the Craigavon bridge. It was unveiled in 1992 and symbolizes reconciliation between both sides of the political divide.
Hangman’s bastion is rectangle demi-bastion that got its name when someone trying to escape the siege got his neck caught in the rope he was using to lower himself down. It is now surrounded by buildings but before that the area below it was enclosed as a parade ground and you could see Culmore Fort in the distance.
Hogg & Mitchell
The Hogg & Mitchell factory was built in 1898 by David Hogg and Charles Mitchell, it was designed by WA Barker and operated till the 1970s. They produced the Old England Brand line of shirts which was renamed to Peter England and are still being sold. The building was converted for commercial and residential use in 2000.
John Francis Duddy (born 19 June 1979) is an Irish actor and former professional boxer who fought from 2003 to 2010. He challenged once for the vacant WBC Silver middleweight title, losing in his final fight to Julio César Chávez Jr.
John Hume, KCSG (born 18 January 1937) is an Irish former politician from Derry, Northern Ireland. He was a founding member of the Social Democratic and Labour Party, and was co-recipient of the 1998 Nobel Peace Prize, with David Trimble.
Kathleen Coyle (23 October 1886 – 25 March 1952) was an Irish novelist, best known for her autobiographical work.
Kilfennan Valley Park
Kilfennan Valley Park Greenway in Londonderry has reopened after a £500,000 upgrade which has transformed and enhanced the beautiful park.
Lisa McGee (born 1979/1980 (age 39–40)) is a Northern Irish stage and screenwriter.
Mabel Remington Colhoun (1905-1992) was a pioneering woman, who had limitless energy and functioned in many roles in her lifetime. She was a teacher, a co-founder of the Nursery Schools in Derry, artist, traveller and archaeologist among other things.
Magazine gate was added to the walls in 1888 to give better access to the river front which had moved away from the walls over the years, when the walls were built this corner of the walls was right on the river. The street it leads onto is known as Magazine Street and in the early years of the city it was used to store munitions. In the 19th century there were many store houses along the street and it was difficult to access them from horse and carriage from Shipquay gate so Magazine Gate was built to allow easier access.
Magee University is one of the 4 campuses of Ulster University, it was first opened in 1865 as a theological college when Martha Magee, gave £20,000 to the Presbyterian Church of Ireland to found a college for theology and arts. The building was used in a allied command centre during World War II and helped coordinate Allied forces in the Battle of the Atlantic.
Máiréad Carlin is an Irish singer. She is a member of the ensemble Celtic Woman and is the first-ever member of the group that was born in Northern Ireland.
Marlene Jefferson, Londonderry's first female Mayor. She was born Marlene Young in the Bishop Street area of the city, the eldest daughter and second eldest child of ten of Jim Young, an electrician from County Donegal, and his wife Martha, known as 'Dolly' (née Doherty).
James Martin Pacelli McGuinness (Irish: Séamus Máirtín Pacelli Mag Aonghusa; 23 May 1950 – 21 March 2017) was an Irish republican Sinn Féin politician who was the deputy First Minister of Northern Ireland from May 2007 to January 2017. A former Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA) leader, McGuinness was the MP for Mid Ulster from 1997 until his resignation in 2013. Like all Sinn Féin MPs, McGuinness abstained from participation in the Westminster Parliament. Following the St Andrews Agreement and the Assembly election in 2007, he became deputy First Minister of Northern Ireland on 8 May 2007, with the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) leader Ian Paisley becoming First Minister. On 5 June 2008 he was re-appointed as deputy First Minister to serve alongside Peter Robinson, who succeeded Paisley as First Minister. McGuinness previously served as Minister of Education in the Northern Ireland Executive between 1999 and 2002. He was Sinn Féin's candidate for President of Ireland in the 2011 election.
The Millennium Forum was opened in 2001, when it opened it had the largest theatre stage in Ireland and has a seating capacity of 1000. It hosts a variety of entertainment events, it is used by local community groups and has meeting & conference facilities. It contains a restaurant that serves lunch and its open late on show nights for pre-show dinner.
Museum of Free Derry
The Museum of Free Derry is a museum in the Bogside area of the city that focuses on the civil rights movement in Derry 1968-1972. It doesn’t just cover local events it also covers civil rights movements a massacres in other parts of the world, so that people can make comparisons.
Nadine Elizabeth Louise Coyle (born 15 June 1985) is an Irish singer, actress and model. In 2002, Coyle was selected as a member of the girl group Girls Aloud, with whom she has been successful in achieving a string of 20 consecutive UK top ten singles (including four number ones), two UK number one albums, five consecutive platinum selling studio albums and received nominations for five BRIT Awards, winning Best Single in 2009 for "The Promise".
Nell McCafferty (born 28 March 1944) is an Irish journalist, playwright, civil rights campaigner and feminist. In her journalistic work she has written for The Irish Press, The Irish Times, Sunday Tribune, Hot Press and The Village Voice.
Ness Country Park
Ness Country park is a group of 3 woodlands; Ness Woods, Every Woods & Burntoilet Woods in the countryside outside of Derry, it is named after the Gaelic for waterfall ‘an eas’. It contains 55 hectares of mixed woodland and includes 7KM of riverside walks. One of the largest waterfalls in Northern Ireland is located in Ness woods and viewable from the pathway at the North of the country Park.
New Gate was first an opening made in the walls in 1787 to allow access to Wapping lane(now Fountain Street) it was turned into a gate just before the United Irishmen Rising of 1798 and then remodelled to its present state in 1866. It was the first of the 3 new gates created in the walls and retained the name New Gate as it was known at the time.
New Gate Bastion
New Gate Bastion’s original name was London Bastion, it was renamed during the siege to New Gate which was the former name for Ferryquay Gate the current New Gate wasn’t built till along time after. The 2 Cannon are from 1642, their barrels are inscribed with the names of the London companies that commission them, the Grocers and the Mercers.
North West Regional College
North West Regional College is a further education and higher education college in the north-west region of Northern Ireland. The college has five main campuses: Strand Road, Derry, Main Street, Limavady and Derry Road, Strabane.
Northern Counties Hotel
The Northern Counties Hotel was opened in 1902 with a Victorian Arts and Craft Style, it was an upmarket hotel that held dances and events for the cities elite. It was a hotel until the 1960s following that it was a restaurant with office accommodation above. It was badly damaged during the troubles by several bombs but was restored in 2002 and now houses retail units on the ground floor and offices on the upper floors.
Old Derry Docks
The waters of the Foyle were flowing to the ocean long before man’s foot trod its banks. In early Irish history those waters carried the flimsy boats of fishermen and travellers.
The Peace Bridge is a foot and cycle bridge across the River Foyle, it runs from the Quay walkway next to the Guildhall on the city side to Ebrington Square on the Waterside. It was designed by AECOM and Wilkinson Eyre Architects and symbolises a coming together of the mainly Unionist Waterside and mainly Republican Cityside.
Derry might be known as the place the Troubles started but it also had a large part in the ending of the Troubles too. John Hume from Derry shared a Nobel Peace prize with David Trimble for their key role in the Peace Process. The Flame here is known as the Peace Flame and was lit by children from both sides of the community in 2013.
Philip Coulter (born 19 February 1942) is an Irish musician, songwriter and record producer from Derry, Northern Ireland. He was awarded the Gold Badge from the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors in October 2009.
The English made 2 failed attempts to establish a trading settlement on the island of Derry, the first in and a second in 1600. The third attempt came after James I started the Plantation of Ulster that involved colonising Ulster with English and Scottish Protestant Migrants. The responsibility for building and defending Derry was given to the companies of London in exchange for the land of the newly created county of Londonderry.
Prehen woods is an ancient woodland that’s been continuously a woodland since at least 1600. It is based just outside the city on the Waterside and its home to Red Squirrels Sparrowhawks and long eared owls. It used to cover almost the entire east bank of the Foyle right the way to Strabane but now is reduced to 18.5 acres.
The River Foyle is the river that flows through Derry, it flows northeast from where the rivers Mourne and Finn join together at Strabane & Lifford and exits at Lough Foyle, which then exits into the North Atlantic. It is one of the fastest flowing rivers in Europe and there are 4 crossings 3 in Derry and one between Lifford and Strabane.
The Riverwatch Aquarium and Visitor Centre is primarily used as an education resource for local school groups and community organisations. However, all visitors are welcome.
Robert Sinclair Factory
Robert Sinclair & Co opened this factory in 1863 with a distinctive clock that faces out towards the Craigavon bridge. It is right across the road from where the famous Tillie & Henderson Factory was and was converted into Apartments in 2017.
Roma Downey (born 6 May 1960) is an actress, producer, and author from Derry, Northern Ireland. She produced the mini-series, The Bible, for the History Channel and also starred in it, as Mary, mother of Jesus. For nine seasons she played Monica, the tender-hearted angel and employee of Tess (played by Della Reese), on the CBS television series Touched by an Angel, for which she earned multiple Emmy Award and Golden Globe Award Best Actress nominations. Born in Derry, Northern Ireland, she has performed on stage with the Abbey Theatre and has appeared both on and off Broadway. She played the leading role of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in the miniseries for NBC, A Woman Named Jackie.
Rosemount Factory is one of the later shirt factories built during the shirt making boom in Derry. It was built by local businessman Mr. Grant in 1904, operated by Kollerton Ltd and designed by architect M A Robinson. It is now used for Community and Commercial purposes.
Royal Bastion was first known as Docwra’s Bulwark, named after Sir Henry Docwra who was sent to reoccupy Derry by Queen Elizabeth I in 1600, it was named Royal bastion during the siege because the crimson flag was flown from it in defiance of the attackers. This would have been an important bastion during the siege as most of the attacking was directed at Butcher gate nearby.
Ryan McBride Stadium
The Ryan McBride Stadium, formerly known as the Brandywell Stadium is a football stadium with a greyhound racing track attached. It was first opened in 1928 and has a 3,700 person capacity. It is the home stadium of Derry City F.C. who play in the League of Ireland and Temporary Home of Institute a NIFL Premiership team.
Saint Augustine's Church
St Augustine’s is a Church of Ireland church, known locally as “Wee Church on the Walls” and it’s location is believed to be the site of the 6th century monastery from when Derry was founded. The current building was built in 1872 but based on a 13th century gothic style.
Seamus Justin Heaney (13 April 1939 – 30 August 2013) was an Irish poet, playwright and translator. He received the 1995 Nobel Prize in Literature. Among his best-known works is Death of a Naturalist (1966), his first major published volume. Heaney was recognised as one of the principal contributors to poetry during his lifetime. American poet Robert Lowell described him as "the most important Irish poet since Yeats", and many others, including the academic John Sutherland, have said that he was "the greatest poet of our age". Robert Pinsky has stated that "with his wonderful gift of eye and ear Heaney has the gift of the story-teller." Upon his death in 2013, The Independent described him as "probably the best-known poet in the world".
Shipquay Gate was one of the original 4 gates to the city, it was remodelled in 1805 and has a single archway. It originally would have had a tower on it and was the access point for ships docked in the Foyle as the river Foyle would have been adjacent to the walls at the time. The gate is decorated with classical symbols of prosperity & commerce and the city’s coat of arms.
The Siege Museum is a permanent exhibition of the history of the Siege of Londonderry and associated clubs, located right next to the Apprentice Boys Memorial on Society Street. The Museum has artefacts from the past & present, an educational and interactive visitor experience and guided tours.
Siege of Londonderry
The Siege of Londonderry was the first major event of the Williamite war in Ireland, it was the 2nd attempt by Jacobite forces to take control of the city. King James II himself appeared himself with an army of Irish and French. After the city refused to surrender and attempts to storm the walls failed, they resorted to try and starve the city into surrender.
St Columba's Heritage Centre
St Columba is widely known as the founding father of Derry, the St Columba's Heritage Centre was setup up to promote the heritage and history of St Columba. The centre is on the grounds of the Long Tower Church in the restored building of the Saint Columba’s National School. It offers an interactive experience showing the life of St Columba.
St Columb's Cathedral
St Columb’s Cathedral is the first post Reformation Cathedral in the UK, it was built in 1633 by William Parratt for The Honourable The Irish Society, the current tower and main building are still that of the original. It was named after St Columba, a Christian monk that established a settlement in Derry during the 6th century.
St Columb's Hall
St Columb’s Hall is a performance venue based adjacent to the walls on the outside, it was built in 1886 by the Catholic Church as a building that the Catholic population could call their own. It has strong community ties and was seen as a refuge for the local community, creative thinkers and cultural organisations.
St Columb's Park
St Columb’s Park is a 70 acre park in the Waterside area, it contains the remain of St Brecan’s a medieval church, the historic St Columb’s Park House, the Foyle Area and leisure facilities. A greenway running through the park links it with much of the city, which goes just past the Foyle Bridge in the north and Craigavon bridge in the south.
St Columb's Park House
St Columb’s Park House is currently a centre for reconciliation run as a community business by the St Columb's Park Reconciliation Trust, it has a café and it offers conference, wedding & residential facilities. It is a historic house built by Lieutenant John Rea, an officer in the Royal Navy in 1788.
St Eugene's Cathedral
St Eugene’s Cathedral is a Catholic Cathedral, designed by James Joseph McCarthy with a simple neo-gothic style. Construction started 1849 and it opened 1873 but wasn’t fully completed until 1903. It is the Mother Church for the Diocese of Derry and parish church for the parish of Templemore.
The star factory was built in 1899 by Watson & Midgley, designed by Daniel Conroy and used by the Bayer Company. Like the rest of the shirt factories it was left disused after the shirt making boom ended and was considered for being demolished in 1996. Fortunately this one was saved and converted into apartments in 2007 by the Department for Social Development.
The City Factory
The City Factory was opened on Queen Street/Patrick Street in 1863 by McIntyre, Hogg & Co. McIntyre & Hogg both came from Scotland, met in Derry, opened a factory together and expanded to a UK wide business that exported shirts across the world. It has been repurposed into office space by Martin Property Group and is currently being let to multiple clients.
The Derry Walls
The Derry Walls are the most complete set of town walls in Ireland and the largest ancient monument in Northern Ireland. They were built by the Honourable the Irish Society between 1613 and 1619 to protect the new plantation city of Londonderry after the previous attempt to establish a settlement was destroyed. Like much of the old city fortifications across the world they now stand as a tourist attraction with many people coming to the city to walk along the walls.
The Fountain was originally known as the Wapping are which is perhaps a reference to the London origins of some of the settlers who arrived in the city during the Plantation in the early 17th century. During the early 17th century when the walled city was first built only Anglican were allowed to live within the walls. The Scottish Presbyterians that settled in the city mostly lived in the Wapping area.
The Gasyard is a multipurpose centre that is home to various community organisations, the community groups deliver vital services to the local community, cultural & education programmes and run local events. It is based in a converted gasworks, most of the facility is based in 2 former gas storing silos. It is surrounded by 6 acres of parkland, has ample parking and a café.
The Heritage Tower
This tower was once part of the former Derry Gaol which was the 3rd prison in the city that was built in 1791 to replace the former Gaol that were inside the walls. The towers of the Gaol including this one were added to the Gaol in 1824, this tower was a hanging tower. The rest of the gaol was closed in 1953 and demolished in 1973 and only this tower remains.
The Platform is rectangle bastion that along with Royal bastion and Double Bastion would have been important in projecting Butcher Gate from attackers. Below there is now a grassy slope but there used to be houses right up to the walls. During the troubles it was common for projectiles to be thrown to and from the walls and the houses below so a large fence was erected to prevent it that is still here today.
The Playhouse was established in 1992 by Pauline Ross using a grant of only £300, it delivers Arts, Education and peacebuilding programmes to the whole community. The buildings were formerly the home of the St Mary’s convent and St Joseph’s school and following an extensive refurbishment in 2009, now contains a 175 seat theatre, a dance studio a gallery and an education & outreach centre.
The Troubles in Derry
The Troubles refers to the period of 1969 to 1998 when there was intense violence across Northern Ireland between Catholic Republicans and Protestant Unionists. It is generally considered to have started in Derry with the Battle of the Bogside and didn’t end till the Good Friday Agreement. At least 10,000 bombs were set off and a of total 227 people were killed in Derry and 3,532 across NI.
The Undertones are a rock band formed in Derry, Northern Ireland in 1974. From 1975 to 1983, the Undertones consisted of Feargal Sharkey (vocals), John O'Neill (rhythm guitar, vocals), Damian O'Neill (lead guitar, vocals), Michael Bradley (bass, vocals) and Billy Doherty (drums). Much of the earlier Undertones material drew influence from punk rock and new wave; the Undertones also incorporated elements of rock, glam rock and post-punk into material released after 1979, before citing soul and Motown as the influence for the material released upon their final album. The Undertones released thirteen singles and four studio albums between 1978 and 1983 before Sharkey announced his intention to leave the band in May 1983, citing musical differences as the reason for the break up.
Tillie & Henderson Factory
Tillie & Henderson’s Shirt Factory was built in December 1856, it was designed by John Guy Ferguson and at 19,000 Square feet it was the biggest shirt factory in the world when it opened. There was plans to convert it into a hotel and museum but at the end of 2002 there was an arson attack and the building was demolished in January 2003.
The Tower Museum is an award winning museum based just within the city walls next to Magazine Gate on Union Hall Place. It has 2 permanent exhibits; the story of Derry and An Armada Shipwreck – La Trinidad Valencera. It also is home to the Mabel Colhoun collection and has temporary exhibits that change regularly.
Verbal Arts Centre
The Verbal Arts Centre is a centre for the preservation & development of the verbal arts & literacy, their vision is a world where every story matters. It is based in the building of the former First Derry National School, which was built in 1894 and connects directly to the walls.
Visit Derry - Visitor Information Centre
The Visit Derry Visitor Information Centre is based in Waterloo place right next to the Derry walls by Magazine Gate. It offers vital services for people visitor the city including; information about the city’s attractions, a visitor pass, Gift Shop, and a Café.
Void is a contemporary art gallery located in Waterloo Place, that commission and produce a visual arts programme to challenge audiences and promote the arts to everyone. It started in January 2003 when a group of artists formed Derry Artists for Derry Art, In 2005 Void opened in the basement of the old City Factory.
The Waterside Theatre hosts a wide range of arts & entertainment events, an extensive & inclusive education programme and a full screen cinema. It is based at the former Ebrington factory that was taken over by Maydown Ebrington Group to open the Ebrington Centre opened in 2001. The theatre also has a fully licensed café and have a variety of meeting rooms for conferences.
Welch Margetson Factory
Welch Margetson was a menswear manufacturers in London that was opened in 1832 by Joseph Welsh and John Margetson, The company first opened a warehouse in the Waterside in 1847, which was used to cut and supply materials for shirts to be made in workers homes using an outworkers system. In 1850 they moved to Foyle street but still relied heavily on outworkers, they then changed to a factory system in the Factory on Carlisle Road.
Wild Ireland is a wildlife sanctuary in Donegal just over the border from Derry, it is open to the public to view but tickets may need to be purchased in advance. It’s main purpose is to provide a place for animals that once lived in Ireland but extinct on the island such as Bears, Wolves, Lynx and Wild Boar. They also educate people on the plight of wild animals across the world and give mistreated animals a home.
The Wilkinson Shirt Factory was one of the later shirt factories in the city, it was built in 1921, designed by R E Buchanan and made shirts for Neely & Wilkinson Ltd. The ground floor of the factory has been converted into retail units including Long’s supermarket and the upper floors have been converted into apartments.
William C. Campbell
William Cecil Campbell (born 28 June 1930) is an Irish and American biologist and parasitologist known for his work in discovering a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworms, for which he was jointly awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. He helped to discover a class of drugs called ivermectins, whose derivatives have been shown to have "extraordinary efficacy" in treating River blindness and Lymphatic filariasis, among other parasitic diseases affecting animals and humans. Campbell worked at the Merck Institute for Therapeutic Research 1957–1990, and is currently a research fellow emeritus at Drew University.